Why The True Value in Life is Spiritual Force

How a modern Zen Master can help you to access it anytime.

Tim Fairweather CA
3 min readMay 6, 2022
Siddartha Buddha Statue with the sun reflecting on a crystal lotus. Authors Collection.
Siddartha Buddha statue with the sun reflecting on a crystal lotus. Authors Collection.

Summary

  • Spiritual force is to have complete wisdom to understand life.
  • Spiritual Force is an open heart without fear and a brave soul to help yourself and everyone.
  • Spiritual Force is a joyful heart with a feeling that life is perfect.
  • Spiritual Force is a shared heart to reveal all the wisdom and compassion.
  • That power is inside me, you and everyone. Waiting for us to discover it, take care of it, develop it and open it up. Ready to shine brightly to everyone.

We asked my Sifu one time how he sees his life. Below I transcribed his answer.

NB: “I” will denote Sifu’s words instead of quoting him repeatedly.

The true value in life is a spiritual force. Sifu says he experiences that truth all the time. If I try to fully open my heart toward other people, outside situations, or material possessions, my heart immediately feels unhappy.

You are guaranteed to lose anything from outside.

Whenever you value something outside, you will worry that others will not care about it. They will not take it seriously, or the circumstances will be out of your control, so you eventually become unhappy.

Then, over time, your values change, and you wonder,

“Why did I take it so seriously?”

Now that I look at it more closely, I realise there is little value.

I have found some values that don’t have this effect on my life.

I never care if other people think I’m spiritual or not.

I never care if other people judge my life as valuable or not. There is only one person whose judgement I value about whether my life is happy, meaningful, truthful, and worthwhile, and that’s me.

If my heart says, “Yes, my life is great. It’s perfect”, the whole universe says that. If everyone on Earth said my life has no value, I wouldn’t care because they don’t know me.

The important thing is that you can understand your life, the whole system of life, and the value of your life.

So I often ask myself,

“What do I value in my life? Do I live in that value? Is that value truly important? Is it truly worth putting all my energy into?”

Then I observe myself and decide that I do live in that value. I appreciate it and think it is incredible.

As I learn to see the value of my life more clearly, it becomes a more substantial power. So whenever I doubt what I’m doing, I stop and check what I value.

When I confirm that the value is truly valuable, I instantly get a new power that stays with me forever.

That power gives me a passion for developing myself and helping everyone.

That power gives me the emotion that I want to help everyone out of suffering.

That power gives me the awareness to see every situation sharply and clearly, making me wiser. That power increases my desire to enjoy life and make every second full of joy without stupidity.

Desire can be perfect if that desire connects to wisdom.

When the desire connects to ego, blindness, possessiveness, and dependence on other people, that desire is stupid and will cause you suffering.

When the desire connects to wisdom, it will protect you and guide you to enjoy life without doing anything wrong. It will help you develop abilities and more ways to enjoy life.

I see the value of life, and my heart knows which direction I want to go in, so I open my own heart to receive all this power.

Once your heart is open to the actual value, then Spiritual Force appears.

--

--

Tim Fairweather CA

I learn from a real Kung Fu Master, I write about it here!